Srkikawa's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Children and Smartphones

So i was just reading an article on CNN about parents using smartphones to entertain and educate young children. I personally do not own a smartphone; however, I do think they can be beneficial and useful for many purposes. I am really amazed at the amount of resources available through smartphone applications. Anyways, the article goes on to talk about how parents are reaching for their smartphones now as forms as entertainment for children. Growing up I can remember always having a gameboy, and some sort of music device to entertain myself, but a cellphone was never used for that purpose and still isn’t. The article also states that almost half of the top 100 selling applications in the itunes store last year were for preschool or elementary school children. After listening to our guest lecturer though I can see a positive impact coming from educational or green games and applications. I can remember a game that I used to play a few years ago in which for every correct answer in a trivia game, one pound of rice was donated to a needy family in a 3rd world country. I believe that games of these nature can be beneficial and can help teach young children the importance certain social responsibilities and is a great way for people to get involved in contributing to society in positive form. I think its really neat that people can be socially and environmentally active without having to run out and join some organization and devote all times of time and money things like this. I am excited to see the evolution of green and educational gaming, and will most likely utilize it as a resource to educate and entertain my children some day.  till next time.

Steve

No Responses to “Children and Smartphones”

Leave a comment